Salt

Oh, how I love histories of seemingly insignificant things! If  Mark Kurlansky wrote a history of the world according to onions, oil, lead, peanuts, paper clips or lint rollers, I would read them all with relish. The sheer number of absolutely delightful and relatively useless things you learn from this book is only outnumbered by the quantity of people I’d recommend it to.

What endeared Salt to me was how such out-of-the-way facts, which few would ever care to look up on their own, became gems in the hands of Mark Kurlansky. Left to my own devices, I never would have discovered how rustic and appealing the art of cheese making is. Always on the lookout for potential careers, his description inspired me to ask the question, ‘would I rather do this <insert bland, 9-5 job>, or make cheese?’ after every new option presented itself. For example – would I rather teach or make cheese? Make cheese. Would I rather edit books or make cheese? Hm. A little tougher, I might have to try the former for a while longer.

Beverage: Jasmine tea, or maybe a good daily green tea

Reminds me of: The True History of Tea by Erling Hoh and Victor H. Mair

And a little of: The book of Tea by Kakuzo Okakura


One thought on “Salt

  1. Pingback: Exceptional but Unposted | Book Lion

Leave a Reply

