Perfect Follow-up to Diary of a Wimpy Kid

I have a confession to make… the other day I gave a horrible, generic and completely uninspired book recommendation. An innocent mother called the store with the question: “What should my daughter read after Diary of a Wimpy Kid?” and I had no ideas. Younger readers can turn to Captain Underpants. The unscrupulous can resort to knock-offs. But what about a 10 year old girl who has just started to love reading for the first time because of the humor? Those aren’t really viable options.

To my extreme shame, the first answer that popped into my head was Percy Jackson, simply because it is equally popular and draws some of the same audience. Do I think P.J. is funny? No. Do I even particularly like it? I never even read the second book… But there it was, the recommendation left my mouth and no questions were asked concerning my sincerity. I can only hope that I didn’t ruin some poor child’s reading life with that haphazard response.

As one might guess, the question of what I should do if ever placed in the same situation has been nagging at me ever since the unfortunate incident. Today I made my rounds of the chapter book room, hoping to find a good next book that wasn’t too cheap, easy, or humorless when it hit me. The perfect follow-up book to Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Calvin and Hobbes

Calvin and Hobbes is truly funny through and through. I have never laughed harder at a book at any age, from 6 to present. So there it is: the effort of 1 week of latent Brain Power. The perfect follow up to a new fad is an old childhood fav. (as usual)

One thought on “Perfect Follow-up to Diary of a Wimpy Kid

  1. This is your best review yet!! Calvin and Hobbes of course. Hope the unfortunate recipient of your recommendation follows your blog.

Leave a Reply

