Winnie-the-Pooh

“I shall do what I can by singing a little Cloud Song, such as a cloud might sing…
How sweet to be a cloud
Floating in the Blue!
Every little cloud
Always sings aloud!

How sweet to be a cloud
Floating in the Blue!
It makes him very proud
To be a little cloud!”
(Winnie-the-Pooh, A.A Milne)

My memories of Winnie-the-Pooh mainly stem from the cartoon version I watched on the television when I was a kid. I remembered a ‘silly old bear’, some other animals and a little boy wandering through the woods and doing something or another. The actual Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne is so much more than those vague recollections! It is whimsical, quirky, and an absolute riot at times. I can see exactly why and how this book got made into a classic and then desensitized for children by Disney.

I had recommended the real Winnie-the-Pooh to a parent of a six-year old boy the other day and received the sharp retort that it was too ‘babyish’ for him. Pooh was written for a six year old and is full of fun-loving adventures and creative play on language. What is too babyish about that? Ever so unfortunately for children these days, the cartoon is dumbed down for toddlers, and so young children have to miss out on these brilliant stories because of the perception of them. You, however, can remedy this terrible error and read A.A. Milne as soon as possible, to yourself, out-loud and to whatever age of person sits in front of you. It won’t let you down.

Beverage: Anything at all so long as it includes honey.

Reminds me: A whole lot of the Moomins by Tove Jansson

*Sorry if my posts become a little stream-of-consciousness in the month of November. I am in NaNoWriMo mode and I’m in the habit of not looking back!*

Leave a Reply

