Harry Potter Completed

We did it, we bashed them, we Potter’s the one, 
And Voldy’s gone moldy, so now let’s have fun!’

‘Really gives a feeling for the scope and tragedy of the thing, doesn’t it?”
(Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling)

Harry Potter 7 CoverWhile I wasn’t attempting to time my re-reading with the release of the final movie, they did, unfortunately, happen to coincide. I am sure that HP fans everywhere have already cried out at the roundness of Voldemort’s face, the stout middle-agedness of Harry’s parents, and the fact that Neville was deprived both of his chubby-ness and his ability to kill horcrux/snakes, so I won’t go into all that. I must to say, however, for the sake of making my side abundantly clear: I do not see how people who have only seen the movies could possibly profess to love HP. There is just no squeezing all of those layers and details into seven, or even eight, feature-length films.

That being vented, I want to say that, despite a few grammatical oddities (the number of times J. K. Rowling writes “he, Harry,” is rather startling), the seventh book is starting to grow on me. I had the feeling previously that J. K. Rowling might not have successfully balanced out all of the plot points – that she may have taken on more than the story could handle. But I find now that all the speculation about Dumbledore is integral to the work and ads a more adult tone, which fits with how the characters mature in the later stories. As always, I now find myself with post-Harry Potter withdrawal. I have recommended a few fixes to other people in the past, like the His Dark Materials Trilogy or The Sea of Trolls trilogy, but sometimes one doesn’t have the luxury of meandering from exciting children’s book to children’s book. Sometimes, one must simply give it up and look forward to next year or the year after when this particular stack of books calls you over again.

I am also delighted to announce, given that I won’t be able to post for a few weeks, that the BookLion is getting married in August. I’m sure I’ll be reading quite a few excellent books, but it is likely I’ll be too busy picking out table settings and honeymooning to post. So stay calm and keep reading – I’m looking forward to starting a new theme when I get back.

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Completed

Leave a Reply

