Zingerman’s Guide to Good Eating

‘Traditional, hand-made deodorant imported from Columbia is just more interesting than the stuff you by at the supermarket.’ – not really paraphrased from Zingerman’s Guide to Good Eating by Ari Weinzweig

In spite of the above snide comment, I truly did enjoy reading about pasta, wild rice, and honey every evening before bed. Images of correctly dried vanilla beans and well-aged balsamic vinegar have been steadily populating my dreams for the last month, for which I am very grateful. The book also left me with an urge for a monthly ‘good food’ stipend, from an unknown source, so that I could afford some of those scrumptious olive oils Ari talks about.

The book being thus fully recommended, I must say that Ari is not a connoisseur of writing; only one of food. I do wish he could have thought of another way to describe salivation-worthy delicacies than the word ‘interesting’. It turns out that if the word is used several times a chapter, the word ‘interesting’ is not very interesting at all. Practically every item is described in the same general way, so much so that I found myself knowing exactly what Ari would say were he to write about deodorant or socks. That being said – when he is truly passionate about a particular topic (pepper was my favorite) he does sort of forget his formula and let his pure love of good food shine through. Generally, a recommended reference book, especially for the history and information about the processes, and good for occasional reading.

Beverage: You absolutely have to drink whatever is best in your house – whether it be coffee, tea, wine, or water – because this book will surely make you feel the lack if you don’t.

Reminds me of… this book is actually a readable reference book – and I don’t know whether I’ve encountered another in the category.

Leave a Reply

