11/22/63

“When all else fails, give up and go to the library.” (11/22/63 by Stephen King)

11/22/63 CoverWhen I originally started hearing about this book I assumed that it was some sort of historical fiction, which I thought was grand, but didn’t interest me much. Then I read a review that explicitly mentioned the key hook, so I will do the same thing here: this is a time-travel book. I would even argue that it is more a time-travel book than it is a historical fiction. The early 1960’s setting does permeate the narrative, but the sense of being a time-traveler, of being ‘other’, is more apparent.

I have never been a Stephen King fan; after leaving a horror book of his unfinished back in high-school I thought I’d never return, but the more reviews I read about 11/22/63, the more intrigued I became. People were using adjectives like ‘literary’ and ‘culmination of career’, and those words always alert my reading radar. Although I wouldn’t disagree with those opinions, I would be more inclined to say that this book is simply an excellent story. The plot is perfectly crafted, the language is rich, the characters sufficiently developed. It is a book that anyone, King fan or not, could pick up and spend a thoroughly engrossing week with.

Recommended Action: Buy Borrow TBR Avoid

Length: 928

Ending Type: Unexpected; Satisfying; Slightly heartbreaking

Further Reading: From here, I would explore the sub-genre of time-travel books. Stephen king actually gives a list of his inspirations in the back the book, which I definitely approve of.

*Disclaimer* I will be moving across the country during the next few weeks, so I don’t expect that I’ll be posting too much. However, I look forward to having a more consistent schedule in the fall and to getting back to posting 2x per week. I hope you’ll stick with me until then!

Leave a Reply

