Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side

Jessica's Guide CoverI am an absolute sucker for a book within a book. Give me an imaginary book with an even remotely intriguing title, and I can’t help myself. So, when I read the jacket and discovered that this book had one entitled: “Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire’s Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions”, it was pretty much a done deal. The only problem with loving books within books so much is that, more often than not, you wish you could read the fictional book instead of the one published in the real world. This was no exception. I enjoyed reading it as a Twilight parody, and laughed a few times, but every now and then I got the sneaking suspicion that this was not intended to be a parody… A slightly disturbing thought. 

Recommended Action: BuyBorrowTBR OR Avoid 

Length: 351

Ending: Overly emotional. 

Further Reading: One of my favorite fictional book was in A Common Reader by Alan Bennett. Unfortunately, the imaginary book sounded so good that I actually became depressed when I found out that it had never been written. 

2 thoughts on “Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side

    • Yeah, I usually don’t write a whole post on books I don’t feel strongly about. I prefer to do a compilation post once I’ve got enough of them built up. I can’t quite remember why I spent the time on this one…

Leave a Reply

