Uglies

“Perhaps the logical conclusion of everyone looking the same is everyone thinking the same.”  (Uglies, by Scott Westerfeld)

Uglies_bookI’m finally getting around to writing some of those short posts of only-OK books I keep talking about. Uglies doesn’t get a full, two-paragraph post for the simple reason that I do not feel compelled to convince anyone to read it. Yet, I also don’t feel as though I must get up on my soap-box and warn everyone to stay way. Mostly, I feel ambivalent. It is simply a fast-paced action novel set in a dystopian future, starring young adults with lots of hormones and moral dilemmas. Despite the hype, I didn’t see anything interesting happening here. If you’ve never read a YA dystopian before, or do not even know what the genre is, you could read this without damaging your reading mind, but there are definitely better out there.

Recommended Action: BuyBorrowTBRAvoid

Length: 432

Ending: Predictable early on

Further Reading: The Giver is an excellent example of a YA dystopian. A more recent one is Pure by Julianna Baggot or the Incarceron series by Catherine Fisher. All of these are more complex, literary, and have much better character development then The Uglies.

3 thoughts on “Uglies

  1. I’m surprised you didn’t like Uglies, few people I’ve spoken to dislike it, I LOVED it. Ironically I think your recommended Pure is one of the worst books I’ve ever read and Incarceron is probably not far behind (I’ve not read The Giver), so perhaps we just have totally different tastes!

    Having said that, I would recommend you try the further books in the Uglies series, personally I found they kept getting better!

    Loving your reviews though, always good to see a different perspective 🙂

    • I think that we must just have different tastes – I do say in my ‘about’ page that my tastes incline towards literary and slow prose, as opposed to fast-paced works. Funnily enough, Pure and Incarceron were both reviewed as being slower, and Uglies is generally said to be fast. Perhaps this accounts for the difference in our opinions. Thanks for commenting!!

      • Lol, that’s probably it, I like a book to go somewhere! Still different strokes for different folkes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

