Maisie Dobbs

“Truth walks toward us on the paths of our questions…as soon as you think you have the answer, you have closed the path and may miss vital new information. Wait awhile in the stillness, and do not rush to conclusions, no matter how uncomfortable the unknowing.” (Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear)

Maisie Dobbs CoverMaisie Dobbs is not your average mystery. Winspear spends much more time exploring the nature of Masie’s character, upbringing, and fascinating education than she does on anything as banal as murder. The book feels like more of a psychological exploration or war memoir or even a tragic love story than its ostensible genre. Instead of being fast-paced and triumphant, as most mysteries are, Maisie’s story is slow and sad, and riddled with flashbacks and pensive silences.

Reflecting on the diverse appeal of Maisie makes me wonder if letting her languish on the mystery genre shelves isn’t an insult. The only people who would look for her there would be traditional mystery lovers, who may think the book too slow, while fans of literature and historical fiction might never get to that far-off shelf. Labeling a book as a traditional genre such as ‘mystery’ ‘romance’ or ‘sci-fi’ doesn’t fit the way people write or read today. Most new books, unless they are traditionally formulaic, mash elements of several genres (much to the benefit of the reader). So why do libraries and bookstores still divide by genre? There are probably a few practical answers to that question, but I am personally waiting for the day when we can mash all the books together and people can find their favored genres (if they still have them) by augmented reality or some other cool computer tech, while the rest of us can browse, happily unhampered by someone else’s label of our next book.

Recommended Action: BuyBorrow TBRAvoid

Length: 249 pgs.

Audiobook Quality: excellent

Ending: Sad but cathartic

Further Reading: I read about this on a list of recommended read-alikes to Downton Abbey, which also included Below Stairs by Powell and other post-WWI titles.  

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s