The Ocean at the End of the Lane

“That,’ said Old Mrs. Hempstock, with satisfaction in her voice, ‘was a very respectable job of snipping and stitching, if you ask me.’ She held up my dressing gown: I could not see where she had removed a piece, nor where she had stitched it up. It was seamless, the mend invisible. She passed me the scrap of fabric on the table that she had cut. “Here’s your evening,” she said. “You can keep it if you wish. But if I were you, I’d burn it.” (The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman)

The Ocean at the end of the lane coverI fell in love with Neil Gaiman when I first read The Graveyard Book for the way he harnesses language and story-line to create a world. Neil Gaimon doesn’t just write a story, he recreates each aspect of storytelling to suit his purposes. The Ocean at the End of the Lane dreamily seesaws between the present and the past so that the book seems a fleeting dream to the reader as much as it does to the characters. The magic Gaiman plays with has its own concrete system and language, it just remains largely unknown to the reader except for the fantastic impression it makes of a reality old, fragile, and malleable.

Though Gaiman usually writes hundred page books for kids and epics for adults, this time he  wrote a slim, beautiful volume for any age at all. This book is remarkable for more than just its otherworldly story – the pages themselves are thick, creamy and deckled, and the type well printed. The Ocean at the End of the Lane should be read in one sitting. I don’t say this because I’m suggesting perseverance, but because you must clear your schedule for about an hour and a half since nothing will get done until you have read the book straight through, with extra time for day-dreaming.

Recommended Action: Buy BorrowTBRAvoid

Length: 181

Ending: like coming out of a dream and not knowing what it meant

Further Reading: You must try out Neil Gaiman’s children’s stories. Other than that, I saw a great similarity in the way Gaiman and Jo Walton (of Among Othersexplore magic – they both create the feeling that magic is there, influencing the world, and is both reachable and unknowable to us.

4 thoughts on “The Ocean at the End of the Lane

  1. Pingback: The Wise Man’s Fear | Book Lion

  2. I actually listened to this on Audible. Not only is he a fantastic writer, but his ability to make his stories come to life as he reads them is incredible as well. This was the first of his that I had ever read and I was in love.

    • I love it when authors narrate their own works. I listened to Gaiman’s ‘Stardust’ once (also narrated by him), and have recommended it to many since. I noticed that his voices for secondary characters weren’t quite consistent, but it didn’t bother me.

  3. Pingback: God Help the Child | Book Lion

Leave a Reply

