Dungeon Crawler Carl 6: The Eye of the Bedlam Bride

Here are the main questions about Dungeon Crawler Carl 6: when does book seven come out?! Why weren’t they all published before I started reading? Why did I start such a hilarious, suspenseful series before it was adequately concluded? And: how am I possibly going to wait x months for the next book? Calculated in terms of laughs per page, there is no substitution for Dungeon Crawler Carl. I have never, ever laughed this much at a book before. My husband claims that I’ve graduated from laughing to cackling and my son’s impression of me reading a book is this maniacal, booming, barking laugh that I only hope is wildly inaccurate.

 Sure, the beginning of Lessons in Chemistry and Romantic Comedy were funny – but they were so short: only a few hours of laughter, total. This series is thousands of pages long, and the laughs never stop. For the first time in my life (ok, that’s not true, considering the number of HP shirts I own), I am seriously considering getting some DCC merch (especially the Goddammit Donut tshirts).

In spite of how much I love it, I’m having a hard time figuring out who to recommend this series to. It seems most of my bookish friends are, well… a little too sensitive for DCC. I can’t go shouting from the rooftops about DCC because the laughs per minute are only rivaled by other calculations, such as the f-bombs per minute, gory deaths per minute, or foot fetish references per minute. For these reasons, DCC is not universally recommendable – but there’s nothing wrong with that. I’d rather read a book perfect for one kind of reader than a book that is readable by all, but beloved by no one. So, if you aren’t squeamish, try Dungeon Crawler Carl (but save yourself the absolute misery of having to wait for book 7 and start it in a few years).

Leave a comment