Matilda

“There seemed little doubt that the man felt some kind of jealousy. How dare she, he seemed to be saying with each rip of a page, how care she enjoy reading books when he couldn’t? How dare she?” (Matilda, Roald Dahl)

As with all books that are turned into movies, the former always wins the ‘which is better’ contest. Matilda is no exception, but since I watched and loved the movie first as a kid, I can’t help but compare them. The most striking difference between the two is how much more dramatic the ending of the movie is. The book’s ending is simple and almost understated in comparison, but feels equally satisfying, if not more so, since it doesn’t have so many bells and whistles.

Both the original and the movie adaptation, however, showcase a six-year-old girl who solves problems basically through pranks. Some of her pranks are rather elaborate and well informed, but still boil down to scaring someone or proving a point through cunning jokes. I simply love this method of problem solving, and I only wish I were courageous enough to use it myself. Think about it: instead of impotently raging because so-and-so said something, you could just switch hair dye with hair gel and sit back while your revenge is enacted. Brilliant.

Beverage: Real hot chocolate with whipped cream seems to fit here, because this would be a perfect book to curl up with some snowy evening.

Reminds me of… the movie Amelie because the main character of that film uses the same sort of practical joking as Matilda to solve her problems, but without the same level of humor.

*Also, if you are a Quentin Blake fan (the illustrator for all of Roald Dahl), make sure to check out his new Klutz book on drawing: it’s fantastic. It almost makes me wish I didn’t know how to draw so I could learn it again from him!*

9 thoughts on “Matilda

  1. I really love the book Matilda , because it has a happy ending and it related to me very well..
    Thank you for taking the time to read my comment.

    Sincerely ,
    Luna ashell

    • Thank you everyone for showing your support for Matilda. I also, of course, love the book and am glad to hear that so many others feel a connection with it. Considering the general outlook of this blog, however, I feel that it is incumbent upon me to say that, most of the time, “old” authors are the best! I try to review books based on their quality, not on their publication date, and some of my favorite books were published centuries ago! So if you take away anything from this blog, know that ‘older’ books are just as witty, sophisticated and well-written as newer books, and sometimes even more so.

  2. Pingback: She’s Come Undone | Book Lion

  3. Pingback: The Wishing Game | Book Lion

Leave a comment